The Benefits of Heat Training

Here’s a topic I’ve been keenly aware of and digging for information on as I plan to race several times this year in relatively hot conditions.  I have found quite a few articles on heat training and the benefits and experiments and a few examples of how to do it.

From what I gather heat training is beneficial to anyone regardless of your race being in a hot or cool climate.  Several tests show that it can indeed increase blood plasma level as well as performance from even relatively mild exposure with a moderate effort.

This link is one that I’ve read many times as I’ve tried to plan my workouts and get the maximum benefit from the heat we’ve had so far this year.  I look forward to hitting up some hot run and bike days as the summer comes this year.  Now, if only I had somewhere I could do a combo of elevation and heat training I’d be set!

Posted on June 26, 2013, in Planning, Triathlon Training, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

