Bike Lactate Threshold info

I finally received the rest of my workup from the fitness test I did 2 weeks ago.  I believe the bike data to be a little different indoors than outdoors (or at least from the comparisons I have of power data from others that I’ve ridden with).  I don’t have a power meter, but I’ve ridden consistently for the last year or so on weekly rides where others have power meters and post the results.  I suppose each power meter (if not calibrated) could be useful only to itself, but it’s all I have to compare to at this point so I’ll just say that compared to that data, this seems lower than I had expected.  On the group rides, we typically held between 300-310 Watts for the actual workout loop which was about 15 miles.  It was a good workout, but it was by no means a sprint effort for those rides.  That being said, this data was taken on the setup shown here.  I don’t know the equipment at all, but for reference, here’s a picture of the setup that I used.

The data, per my workup, came out to say that my Lactate threshold on the bike was 225W and a HR of 155.  I have typically used Joe Friel’s method of finding my LT HR which is to take a known course (supposed to be flat, but I don’t live near enough flat land to make that happen) and ride at the maximum pace you can sustain for 30 minutes.  Then you take the average HR of the last 20 minutes of that ride as your lactate threshold.  Right or wrong, that’s what I’ve used for the last 3 years and it’s done me well.  Per Friel’s test, my bike LT HR has been set between 164 and 168 (my records only go back through August of 2011).  However, this test shows it to be at 155.  Ironically, 155 has been my target HR for my half ironman races and I’ve done a pretty good job of holding it right on 155 for those races.  So, if that were truly my lactate threshold, I would suspect it wouldn’t be possible for me to hold my HR that high for that long, but I’m relatively new at this, so if any of you have better data/knowledge/insight on this, please let me know 🙂  I’m here to learn.

For a description of the procedure used in the test, please see my previous post.  Without further ado, here is the chart that they generated from my LT bike test.

bike LT graph

Posted on April 6, 2013, in Biking, Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

