Busy time of year

It’s been a busy few weeks learning my new area.  I’ve joined a Masters group already and I think we’ve finally found a house which will free up some of my time.  I still haven’t figured out the bike routes around the area very well.  I’ve been out riding, but really haven’t found any good routes yet.  I’d like to get in with a group ride, but I still don’t have a road bike and I really haven’t had time to join one yet anyways.

Back in Kentucky, I had a small group ride on Thursdays that was always challenging.  I think that ride really helped me push my interval work b/c we were always pushing each other.  I feel like I need to find a group to ride with so that I can get those same intense workouts b/c always riding solo just doesn’t provide that competitive challenge that you need to lift your intensity level consistently.

I think I’ve finally planned out which races I’m going to attempt this year, but my calendar is so soft at this point that I can’t set anything in stone just yet.  My upcoming races (tentatively) are: Heart and Sole tri (4/20 in Versailles, KY), Huntersville Sprint Tri (4/28 in Huntersville, NC), Over the Mountain Sprint Tri (5/18 in King’s Mountain, NC), Stumpy Creek Tri (8/3 in Mooresville, NC), Lake Norman Y Tri (8/24 in Cornelius, NC), Vegas 70.3 (9/8, fingers crossed), and Pinehurst International Tri (10/5 in Pinehurst, NC).

As far as progression, this is my test week and I’ve completed my swim test.  It was once again done in a new pool which always throws a bit of a variable into the results, but my times were fairly consistent with my last test which probably means I need to put in a bit more effort into my workouts.  My run and bike tests will be done in the next two days.  This will be my first bike test of the year, so I won’t have any comparisons on it, but I’m hoping for some good improvement again on the run.  I’ll post results after the tests.

Posted on March 23, 2013, in Biking, Planning, Triathlon Training and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

